In my.ycp.edu, the Announcements section has info that your school & department want you to see.
A select few are emailed to you. If there are groups that you don't want messages from, you may filter their emails.
You can remove an announcement with the x beside it. However, it's not permanently deleted. To restore all of your current announcements, view in a different browser or clear your cache.