How to Delete a Section
A section can be deleted from Site Manager, even if it contains content. The section will appear in a dark color within the site structure and will not be published to the live environment. It can be found in the Recycle area, along with any inactive and orphaned content. From here, an Administrator can either restore or purge the section.
To Delete a Section from the Site Structure:
- Go to Content and select Site Structure.
- Expand the site structure until the section can be seen.
- Hover the mouse pointer over the down pointing arrow associated with the section that you wish to delete.
- Select Delete from the pop-up menu. A warning will appear which must be accepted or canceled to proceed.
Once you select OK to confirm the deletion, the deleted section will appear highlighted in red. The section has not been completely deleted at this point; it is only deleted from the navigation. To delete a section permanently, it must be purged by an Administrator in Recycle.
Do not use the Delete facility to temporarily remove/hide a section, as an Administrator might purge it from the Recycling bin, and then it cannot be restored. To deactivate a section, but still keep it, update the section's status to Pending. The section will be removed from the site, but can be reset to Active in the future.